Winter storage tips

Discussion in 'Tips 'n' Tricks Topic' started by my81z, Dec 30, 2011.

1. my81z

my81z Member

Feb 20, 2009
    canada
    This is my first year for storing my 81Z and would like some recommendations for storing it over the winter. I have read the pros and cons on winter start ups, raising on jack stands, removing tires and battery. Just thought I would ask Camaro guys for their valued input.

2. harbone66

harbone66 Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

Feb 15, 2011
    Central Illinois
    Is your storage area heated?

3. JONESYFXR

JONESYFXR Veteran Member

Oct 10, 2009
    BUFFALO, NY
    Ok, I see you're from Canada. Being in Buffalo, NY I'm used to the cold. I'd remove your battery and place it on a board or shelf in your basement to prevent freezing (not on the basement floor). Also, It's not a bad idea to put your car on jack stands to prevent dry-rotting the tires and flat spots. I know a guy who lays an old rug down, then parks on it to keep the humidity down under the car. Also, and this is a must, use fuel stabilizer. Put in the recommended amoount for your tank size, top it off (a full tank is safer than an empty one...les flammable), then run your car for a bit to make sure you get the stabilizer in the carb. I've also heard of guys removing the plugs and fogging the engine or shooting oil into the plug holes, of which I've never done to a car and never had any problems in the spring with fire up.

4. my81z

my81z Member

Feb 20, 2009
    canada
    It is a new garage that is not heated. I kinda like the idea of over pressure the tires and park on carpet. I've even read of guys that will plug the tail pipes to prevent rodents but since it is a new tight garage I don't think I will have that problem. Thanks again.

5. global warmer

global warmer Veteran Member

Apr 1, 2010
    Saratoga Springs NY