Vacuum gauge newbie....

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting & Diagnosis' started by Ron D, Oct 7, 2017.

1. Ron D

Ron D New Member

Sep 26, 2016
    Alberta, Canada
    Having never used a vacuum gauge I figured the best place to get the answers is here...

I have a 1970 LT1 with a Holley 4150 carb which has a vacuum outlet on the front right side. The hose that comes off of the carb goes to a "T" which in turn feeds the choke pull off and goes to just below the distributor cap.

Once the engine is warmed up can I remove the initial hose coming off the carb to use my gauge or am I best served to insert it in pace of the choke pull off or distributor cap hose (for lack of a better term)?

I understand that at my location at 3500 feet above sea level my numbers are supposed to be 3.5 off of what is expected so I assume if one were to expect say 20 at sea level in my case if it shows 16.5 then I am OK?

Many thanks in advance!

Newbie here so please keep the eye rolling and snickering to a minimum, hehehe

2. tom3

tom3 Veteran Member

Aug 1, 1999
    ohio
    I'd unhook the hose to the choke unit to get a reading. Hose from carb should be at a lower point on the carb too, often a high connection is ported vacuum and not a constant source.

3. ol' grouch

ol' grouch Veteran Member

Jul 4, 2013
    Evansville, In.
    Personally, I prefer to pull vacuum at the intake. A lot of ports on carbs. don't have full vacuum, or only at times. Maybe this will help you. You're right in accommodating altitude.

Vacuum gauge diagnostic chart.JPG

4. Ron D

Ron D New Member

Sep 26, 2016
    Alberta, Canada