TH350 vs TH400: I have a couple questions and need help

Discussion in 'Transmission & Driveline Topics' started by LDBrock87, Dec 2, 2017.

1. LDBrock87

LDBrock87 New Member

Dec 2, 2017
    I’m still kinda new to the car scene, so my knowledge is pretty limited and I definitely get lost on some of the lingo, so please don’t be upset if I have no clue what you mean about certain things.

Backstory: So I’ve had an ‘81 Z for a few years as a project car. It was being built as a drag car by the previous owner, but they got about halfway there and basically gave up(what I’m getting at here is the body, though straight, doesn’t look the best and the interior is bad, but the engine, trans, suspension, and basically everything performance-wise is spot on). For a Christmas/birthday present this year, my parents are helping me pay for a custom-built Stroker 383 to put in. It’s all chrome, never been fired, the works. My questions are mainly about the transmission though. It comes with a TH400 reverse shift trans, built to the same degree as the motor.

Finally getting to questions: According to the builder, the stroker is gonna put out about 800 horsepower. My first question is if the TH350 currently in my Z will be able to handle that kind of power, and if so, what modifications I may need to do(or make sure it has) in order to to be able to push it? My second question is if I do need to go ahead and put in the TH400, will I still be able to drive it normally as a cruiser without tearing it up?

Quick note: both my TH350 and TH400 are automatics. I feel like that’d make a difference.

2. SRGN

SRGN Veteran Member

Feb 20, 2009
    Central NJ