SoCal 1975 Sport Coupe Resto

Discussion in 'Project Progress' started by PasadenaRoss, Oct 29, 2016.

1. PasadenaRoss

PasadenaRoss Member

Sep 9, 2005
    Sunny Pasadena, CA, USA
    Hello gentlemen, I have been a lurker on this board for 10+ years, dreaming of the day when I'd be able to do a full restoration on my '75 Sport Coupe. Many, many helpful people over the years.

I purchased this car from my father in 1991, when I graduated high school, and had been in love with it since I was around 7-8 years old. My father had owned it since 1976.

The car is a V8 4 barrel automatic, with column shift. It is Bright Blue Metallic (Muslane) Code 026, with white interior.

This is a frame off, ground up restoration. Many will ask why on a 75? Because of my sentimental value of the car. I love the car and always have.

Unfortunately I had my laptop stolen and don't have too many pictures of the process. All I have are mostly cell phone pics.

The car was completely stripped and fully gutted. Virtually every piece of the car has been either restored or replaced. I mean everything. The frame and all suspension pieces were all powdercoated as were all engine compartment components and brackets. Way too much to list now.

The goal was to keep a mostly original look and theme to the car including colors, but add some serious horsepower to a weak 165HP 350. It has been dynoed now at 405 HP after a little work! The engine bay looks very stock except for the headers and working cowl induction from an 81 z28. (I had my original hood painted as a spare). The rally wheels are also custom 15x7s.

Below are a couple of pictures after an almost 4 year restoration and lots of dollars. I started collecting parts years ago.

The car is sitting very high in all these pics because it hasn't been driven, and in most pics some of the heavier components are still missing. Once it is driven, it should settle to a very nice even stance.