So I want to start my own business...

Discussion in 'The BS Topic' started by RockerMomsHotwheels, May 6, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I have been dispatching for almost 20 years now and I'm just plain tired. Nights, weekends and holidays...Cussed at and threatened, gut wrenching calls and brass that couldn't give a rats a$$ about their staff. I'm ready for a change.
    I want to purchase the DB500 Dustless Blaster...Well, if I can get the loan for it as it's $37.500 Years ago, I worked as a sand blaster and mainly worked on bridges and on tanker cars...IF I can get the loan and IF I decide to go for it, I would still keep my job and work on getting blasting jobs. I work 2 on and 2 off with every other weekend off so I have days I can blast.
    Whats everyones thoughts on this? For me this is a ton of cash and it scares the crap out of me but man what a sweet setup...Oh and Audra said go for it...

http://www.dustlessblasting.com/index.html

2. Shizzle

Shizzle Veteran Member

Aug 1, 2012
    oak lawn, illinois
    My cousin & I have been thinking of starting something. Some of his ideas sounded good on paper but there wasn't a market in real life.

Do some research if there is a calling for it before hand. Or in the case of the bridges, can a new guy get in, are you going to be able to come up with the capital for the insurance requirements that companies require to do business with them.

Otherwise, good for you & wish you the best.

3. CDesperado

CDesperado Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

Oct 1, 2004
    Dallas Texas
    Having done this a number of times.... One of the most common problems in starting a business is people don't anticipate the overhead and administrative time and costs. Tax laws are a nightmare.