Original Parts vs After Market Replacements

Discussion in '1970 - 1973 Specific' started by ZWhite72, Apr 3, 2017.

1. ZWhite72

ZWhite72 New Member

Feb 8, 2017
    Valparaiso, IN
    Hey Guys,

Great site with lots of info.. I could use a little direction on original parts vs replacements.

My background is Corvette C3, and this is my first Gen2 Camaro..The car I have is a 72 Z28 (yes it has the L in the vin and Z28 on the trim tag.) A little backstory on the car..Numbers matching LT1 engine, TH400 tranny and rear end with build date code consistent with other build dates/codes I’ve found on the car..It had been sitting for 10 years or so, so changing all of the fluids is a no brainer, he did drain the gas tank before parking it..10ft paint, complete car minus correctly dated carb.

So I dropped the gas tank to get at the fuel sending unit, and the tank looks clean on the inside, the outside not so much. No leaks..Does it make sense to put the original tank back in to keep it original, or replace it with an aftermarket one? I don’t think I’ll keep this car, I do have a vette that sucks up all my disposable income already..But I don’t want to mess with a potentially restorable Z..I just want to get it running safely, and pass it on to the next guy..I assume that consumables (points, plugs, brakes) don’t matter too much..But the tank and other non-consumable parts may..

Sorry for the long post.. Any words of advice appreciated..

2. bodymanbill

bodymanbill Veteran Member

Feb 1, 2007
    South Park Pa
    I would save it , my 73 tank sounds just like yours, like new on the inside and was absolute garbage on the outside. I put a couple days into it and now it looks like this[​IMG][​IMG]

3. Chevrolaine

Chevrolaine Veteran Member Gold Member

What Bill said. If it's not leaking why replace it? Nothing aftermarket fits as well as original and it'll only give potential buyers one more thing to complain about.
    Take it out, clean it, paint it and be done with it.