Need electrical advice.....

Discussion in 'The BS Topic' started by ol' grouch, Nov 5, 2017.

1. ol' grouch

ol' grouch Veteran Member

Jul 4, 2013
    Evansville, In.
    ...preferably from an electrician with eyebrows. :) The girlfriend needed to put a new switch in her ceiling fan. I don't know what I did to deserve her but I'm not asking questions and I don't like to say no. Anyway, I took the fan down and managed to replace the switch. Evidently, this happens a lot as they knew exactly what I needed. The GF isn't a small woman and she had ripped the pull chain out of the switch.

Anyway, I got the new switch in and wired it exactly like the old one. Now, I can't get the light or fan to turn on. On the house side, there is the normal white, black and ground wire. On the fan there are matching wires plus a blue one. Anybody know where the blue wire goes? I thought it was simple but I'm not an electrician. Snakes and spiders don't bother me if I know they're there. I'm not particularly afraid of heights. Give me something to hold onto and I'm good. I got hit with 220 as a kid and ever since then, I really don't like electricity. Yes, the breaker has been checked and isn't tripped.

2. BowHunter

BowHunter Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

Nov 12, 2004
    Wappapello Mo, USA
    I'm not an electrician but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night! The blue 1 should be the power for the lights and should be hooked the the black hot wire.

3. Dave Nelson

Dave Nelson Veteran Member Gold Member

Dec 19, 2003
    Vineland N.J USA
    Connect the blue wire together with the black wire, usually they are separated if you are using dual wall switches.

4. Green hornet

Green hornet Veteran Member

Oct 11, 2015
    North Bay, CA
    ^+1 the blue wire should have been tied to the black when you took it apart. Check that. Sometimes a wire slips out of the wire nut. Double check all your connections. Hope this helps.

5. budro6968

budro6968 Veteran Member