Msd atomic on fresh rebuilt sbc

Discussion in 'High Tech Retrofits' started by Chevyjay, Jan 27, 2018.

1. Chevyjay

Chevyjay New Member

Jan 25, 2018
    hello all, I’m about to take my 350 sbc out and give it a freshen up and new 274 cam, I’m also thinking of getting an efi system as it’s a daily driver. I’m swinging towards the msd atomic or maybe a fitech but have heard a few negatives on the fitech,

My question is for running the cam in do I put the idle speed to 2000 and let the cam run in varying 2000-2500, but this can be tricky making sure everything else is ok timing etc on such a high idle.

I know you set up static before but as I’m new to Efi do I just set the idle high on the msd?

If Anyone who has fitted one of these stand alone efi’s have any tips on first sart that would be great

Cheers Jason.

2. CorkyE

CorkyE Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

Nov 4, 2004
    Ringgold, GA
    Welcome to NastyZ :)

I'm in the process of installing a new engine in mine and EFI is on the table, but later down the road. My reasoning is the mentioned EFI systems need to learn what the engine needs and I don't want that happening on a brand new engine break in. Mine is a roller cam setup so it's not that critical but I don't want to chance the EFI going lean on initial run. I have a known good carburetor, so I'll be using it until I'm satisfied everything is good to go. I know companies sell high performance engines with EFI already installed but these guys know the calibration need for a safe start up. GM does thousands of these each year but then again, they have the system programed.

I'll likely go with FiTech, or maybe the Holley Sniper. Reason you've heard more negative about FiTech is there are simply more of these units out there, hence more good and bad comment. A good deal of guys who write the negative comments are the cause, and wouldn't write a good comment if everything went perfect on the install.