lap welding help,

Discussion in 'Garages, Workshops & Tools' started by rusty76, Aug 3, 2009.

1. rusty76

rusty76 Veteran Member

Apr 24, 2009
    Clarksville Tn
    Im new to welding and I have all new patch panels for my 76. This weekend I tried some butt welding and wound up just burning alot of holes in the metal. The two of them were held together pretty well so I left it as it was. Butt welding isnt working for me, so would lap welding work for body patch panels? help would be great, I would hate to ruin these panels. Thanks

2. a550550

a550550 Veteran Member

Oct 20, 2008
    minnesota
    How long are you holding the trigger, and what is your setting?

3. rusty76

rusty76 Veteran Member

Apr 24, 2009
    Clarksville Tn
    Its a 90 amp, flux/mig gasless from harbor freight. I have the heat setting on Min and the wire speed on about 3 out of 10. I only hold the trigger for about a half a second to a second.

Last edited: Aug 3, 2009
  4. GetMore

GetMore Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

Nov 8, 2004
    Patterson, NY
    A bit part of your problem is welding without gas. It is hotter and more likely to burn through.
    Flux core wire is okay for thicker stuff and is meant for windy conditions, where the gas will get blown away.

5. brooksman9

brooksman9 Veteran Member

Jun 10, 2007
    Olive Branch, MS
    Turn your wire speed up a little and play around on some scrap pieces til you get comfortable. Lap will be easier with the flux core too. Just tach a spot and move around the panel so you don't get it too hot. Works pretty good for floor pans etc. Haven't tried on my quarter patch panels yet but will be doing so soon.

6. rkauto2

rkauto2 Member

Jul 30, 2009
    richmond me.