How much HP would heads alone add?

Discussion in 'Engine Topic' started by Crowsville, May 24, 2013.

1. Crowsville

Crowsville Member

Jan 13, 2013
    New York, New York
    I'll be honest and say that I'm a newbie. I was sitting down and thinking of this and I couldn't have thought of a better place to get an answer to this question. I have a 350 on my 81 camaro that I believe came off of an 83 Chevy Pick up. I've done some research and what I've found is that these 350s produce something around 160 HP.

I continued to do some reading and found out that the main reason that these motors produce such little HP is because of the EGR heads(smogger heads). When I got the car along with this motor it had a quadrajet that was shot so I took the easy fix and put on an edelbrock 1406. It ran well after that, but still didn't produce much power.

I am 21 and I use this Camaro as a daily driver. I love the car and I simply cannot see myself driving anything else. This is why I am not really trying to build the motor to produce a ridiculous amount of HP and further worsen the MPG it has. I actually find the MPG at the moment very doable, but the little power it produces is quite embarrassing so I started to think of this and please feel free to throw in all the two cents you guys. I always throw around the saying,"If you're new to it, I'm true to it" to my friends and in comparison to many people on here I'm new to it and you're true to it! lol

If I changed my stock heads with some from Summit/Jegs, along with the intake manifold and distributor would this make my HP climb to somewhere around 300 with the stock camshaft? Those are all simple bolt ons. The camshaft that's currently in the car I believe is the main contributor to the MPG my vehicle is producing... being that it's a truck motor wouldn't it be a better camshaft than lets say a car that had a 350 in that same year range?