holley help! secondaries dripping

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting & Diagnosis' started by Camaro-81, Apr 12, 2003.

1. Camaro-81

Camaro-81 Veteran Member

Mar 16, 2000
    apex, nc USA
    i have a 3310 holley 750 vac secondary carburator

at idle there is gas dripping steadily from the secondary boosters, sometimes it only drips from one of the two

it doesnt do it all the time, sometimes at idle it'll slow down and stumble for about 20 seconds, then go back to normal

i'm pretty sure the float level is good, i'm new to holleys but i think i got it close enough

also, i dont have a metering block on the secondary float bowl, the bowl connects straight to the main carb housing

2. Daniel

Daniel Veteran Member

Sep 6, 2000
    FL
    Sounds like a sticking needle and seat. You should probably take off the secondary bowl and clean with carb cleaner. Also put in a new needle and seat. A quick fix is to unscrew the needle from the top and give it a squirt of carb cleaner. An even quicker fix is to tap the bowl with a hammer a few times, this will dislodge whatever is in the needle/seat, but it will eventually make its way back in there.

[This message has been edited by Daniel (edited April 12, 2003).]

3. angel71rs

angel71rs Veteran Member

Jul 28, 2002
    El Paso, TX
    Don't pop off the secondary bowl. One of the things I really like about Holleys is that the needles pop right out the top. To verify your fuel levels, just remove the brass sight plug that is located on each bowl on the passenger side. Fuel should just be dribbling out. If you get a river of gas, there is trash in the needle. If too much flows out, but not a river, float is probably just out of adjustment.

4. ddeennis

ddeennis Veteran Member

Feb 12, 2003
    winfield