GMPP transmissions and warranty coverage

Discussion in 'Transmission & Driveline Topics' started by daniel76309, Feb 23, 2018.

1. daniel76309

daniel76309 Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

Oct 22, 2005
    Niceville, Florida
    Please allow me to share my experience dealing with General Motors and their warranty coverage.

I purchased a new General Motors Performance Parts 4L85E Supermatic transmission and installed it in March of 2015. My car is a 1970 Camaro and it has a GMPP LS376-480 engine which was also purchased new. The car does get driven but it has never been raced or abused, and in general it spends a lot of time in the garage (average use is approximately 2000 miles per year). I completed these installations myself, but I have been working on cars for almost 50 years so I am confident that everything was properly installed.

In September of 2017, after approximately 5000 miles of use, the transmission began to malfunction. Under certain conditions it was slipping instead of shifting. I didn't know what was wrong (I thought it could be something minor) so I took it to my local transmission repair shop.

The technician started by pulling the pan. He noted lots of metal fragments, so there was no alternative but to remove the transmission for further evaluation. He told me that the overdrive sprag had failed, which he said he hasn't seen very often, but his best guess was it was just a defective part to begin with. He also told me that this failure resulted in metal fragments which resulted in damage to other components in the transmission. The only solution was a total rebuild, including replacement of many hard parts. This cost me $2364.50.