Drivetrain identification and value

Discussion in '1970 - 1973 Specific' started by Tank Sinatra, Mar 14, 2017.

1. Tank Sinatra

Tank Sinatra New Member

Mar 13, 2017
    Recently I picked up a 72 from a guy that I plan on using for a pretty big project. I'm completely new to second Gen Camaros, but I love the body so that's what I chose for this project.

I paid a little more than I wanted for the car but on the plus side, it runs and drives. I'm hoping that by selling the engine, transmission I'll be able to recoup a few bucks and use them to spend on the project. The guy selling it assured me that because the engine and transmission were correct for a '72 that they would sell for more because of the strike there were less made, etc... I don't know how true that is so I'm hoping to get some input on what they're worth.

I crawled all around the thing today looking for numbers. The transmission was easy, judging from the pan, it is a TH350, and the partial VIN by the bellhousing matched the frame VIN so it is indeed a '72 TH350, but I'm kind of thinking since anyone that buys it, it won't match their VIN so why would it be worth any more even if it is a '72? It also seems to leak a little, should I rebuild it or just sell it as-is? What's it worth? Judging from an Ebay search maybe $100? $200 if I'm lucky? Not quite what I hoped but every dollar helps I guess!