David's 1st project: 1978 LT Camaro

Discussion in 'Project Progress' started by dirtdobber78, Feb 14, 2012.

1. dirtdobber78

dirtdobber78 Veteran Member

Feb 14, 2012
    Dallas, TX
    This is my first car project and my brother-in-law Bob will be helping me with it. I am going to rebuild/modify this 1978 LT Camaro. I am not good at all the jargon yet, but am looking forward to making this project fun, documenting it here, and welcome advise of the forum members. I'll try to post the pictures of the car and then give a little history.

Attached Files:

2. dirtdobber78

Feb 14, 2012
    Dallas, TX
    History: I purchased this car from my now father-in-law who bought this car new. It was driven by my father-in-law, 2 of his 3 kids and his wife as a commuter car. His youngest daughter is now my wife. It has a 305 and an automatic transmission. It has been stored for a few years in a barn and since the barn had to come down the car had to come out. When I saw the car I really liked it and so the story begins.

3. dirtdobber78

Feb 14, 2012
    Dallas, TX
    Bob and I have worked 1-2 days on this project so far and have so far tested the compression (all cylinders had good compression), removed the engine and the transmission. The plan is to take the car down as far as necessary to redo it and make it a really sweet ride. I would like to keep the 305 and make some modifications to juice it up a bit. I saw an article on ways to get good horsepower from these engines. I do not have a lot of extra cash so until the budget loosens up a little I wont be able to spend a lot.

4. dirtdobber78

Feb 14, 2012
    Dallas, TX
    I want to put in a manual transmission (brother-in-law has one from his 78 camaro) and so when I get to that advise will be needed. I am thinking about blue with white stripes.

5. wayback

wayback Veteran Member

Welcome to the board David. :bowtie: