Best replacement carburetor for a rochester q jet

Discussion in 'Engine Topic' started by Rays Camaro, Mar 26, 2015.

1. Rays Camaro

Rays Camaro New Member

Feb 16, 2015
    Phoenix, Arizona
    I drive a 1980 camaro with a 350 bored .30 over which I use as a daily driver.
    Last weekend on my way home from work my engine started to bog down. long story short, my carb needs a rebuid or replacement.
    The way I see it, its just an excuse for an upgrade but I really have no experience or knowledge on anything else. Ive been recommended speed demon and Ive been looking into Edelbrock.
    What carb would you recommend for a little more power but still mild enough for a daily driver on a basically stock 350 or am I better off going with a rebuild?

*note. This is my first car and im still learning

2. MR NICE

MR NICE Member

Feb 5, 2013
    det mi
    650 double pumper is what I would do,you would also need a different intake a older weiand stealth works good and has good hood clearence

Last edited: Mar 26, 2015
  3. CorkyE

CorkyE Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

Nov 4, 2004
    Ringgold, GA
    IMHO, another Q-Jet...

BTW, welcome to NastyZ. :)

4. Gary S

Gary S Administrator Lifetime Gold Member

Apr 14, 1999
    Bismarck, North Dakota
    I agree with Corky. Nothing else will run as well as a quadrajet, and anything else would be a downgrade from a good running quadrajet. Rebuild the quadrajet you have and enjoy knowing you are driving the best engineered carb ever made.

5. dale68z

dale68z Veteran Member

May 14, 2009
    Glendale Arizona
    ^^^^^
    what he says. Unbeatable carb for driveability and economy when rebuilt , and tuned properly

6. Damon

Damon Veteran Member

Nov 16, 2000
    Philly area