Anyone Know Anything About '60s-'70s 50Hp Merc Outboard?

Discussion in 'The BS Topic' started by danbrennan, Oct 14, 2017.

1. danbrennan

danbrennan Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

Mar 13, 1999
    Brighton, MI
    It will fire very briefly if I manual work the enrichener, but won't stay running. I've been thinking it's most likely something to do with the fuel delivery, but I'm a little puzzled about where the fuel pump is.

I thought it was the square-ish thing in the first picture, but when I removed it, there didn't seem to be much there. The fuel line then goes into sort of a T, mounted to a cylindrical device, and then the top of the T goes to what I assume is the carburetor(I couldn't get a picture of those, not until I remove the starter).

I've never worked on an outboard motor before - they don't seem to choke the air? Instead they add more fuel during crank and cold startup? Which is actually what we do with fuel injection on cars, now, of course. I couldn't find anything that looked like a choke.
    MercFuelPump.jpg MercOutboardOnStand.jpg

2. Bandit723

Bandit723 Veteran Member

Oct 1, 2016
    Waupaca WI
    From the looks this might be a pre ethanol? check to see if there is black particles floating around in the fuel system that includes checking the carbs. Also have seen a few of these have the head gaskets leak seen this with folks on the chain of lakes in waupaca.

3. GoldenOne7710

GoldenOne7710 Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member

Jun 23, 2004
    Athens, GA
    Google search for an exploded diagram of the engine. A lot of the boat parts places will have a diagram with labels and it'll be easy to pinpoint the location of everything you need to know about.

Last parts I ordered for my boat (sold it) was dusky marine. They had the best prices and every single part I needed when I rebuilt all 6 carbs that were on my '95 Johnson 175hp outboard.

4. 71RS/SS396

71RS/SS396 Veteran Member

Aug 26, 2008
    Wake Forest NC