Aftermarket radio install- wiring 72 camaro

Discussion in 'Car Audio, Electronics & Security' started by 72RSStriker, Nov 21, 2016.

1. 72RSStriker

72RSStriker New Member

Oct 27, 2015
    Orion, MI
    Hello, I took out my am radio and installed an aftermarket radio. Warning..lol, I have no experience in car audio so this is my first install. Do I just need to hook up the rear speakers, and the single front and then the 12v power source wire? Any others I need to hook up to my original wiring?

Also since i only have one front speaker (for now), do I just take one side of the LH or RH leads to hook up?

2. ol' grouch

ol' grouch Veteran Member

Jul 4, 2013
    Evansville, In.
    The wiring is substantially different today over what it was in the 70's. first off, speakers now require a wire to the speaker and a ground back to the radio. You car had the ground to the frame. For your front speaker, you can get a speaker set of two speakers that will fit in the old speaker location. You will also need two power wires. The main wire for ignition and accessory to turn the radio on when you are driving and a smaller wire that is direct to the battery or an always hot connection for the memory. The common location for rear speakers is in the rear window deck but in the day when you car was built, it was often common to see surface mount speakers, although those often got stolen.

3. 72RSStriker

72RSStriker New Member

Oct 27, 2015
    Orion, MI
    MORE QUESTIONS: Im not used to schematics and I think the book for my 72 is terrible.

Can you tell me what the yellow and gray wire is for the radio harness? I know black is ground and the green/ green black is for the front speaker. I want to solder these wires to my new harness, but want to know what these two wires are for.
    radio con.jpg

4. grzewnicki

grzewnicki Veteran Member Lifetime Gold Member