'81 Z28 Code Red

Discussion in 'Project Progress' started by riderwestslope, Mar 11, 2014.

1. riderwestslope

riderwestslope Veteran Member

Jul 1, 2013
    Western Colorado
    Well, I am finally going to break down an start a build thread. I have been poking around here alot and asking questions for several months now and have found that everyone on here is great, and this is an awesome source of information.

That said, I picked up a second gen Camaro last summer. It is the second one I've built/owned after building and selling a string of later model F-bodies over the years, and most recently a Jeep. I guess you could say things have come full circle. After the sale of my prior venture, I bought this fairly clean car locally off Craigslist and have been squirrelling parts and pieces away since, and getting the engine build well on its' way. My goal is to build a street car that can hold its' own in the Colorado corners, with a couple trips to the local strip each summer on street night. However, I still want to be able to cross the state comfortably. I want this car to be the one I hang onto!

Thus far I have built a 385 ci small block using a balanced Scat rotating assembly, Probe Pistons and Edelbrock RPM heads yielding about 10.3:1 compression. I have a Comp Cams 276HR roller cam and 1.5 roller rockers. Additionally, I've stashed a set of full length 1 5/8"coated Hedmans, an Edelbrok RPM intake and a Fast EZ EFI system. I have a Pypes 2.5" X pipe exhaust with some Magnaflows sitting in the garage as well. Hopefully it will yield enough in the motivation department.

I picked up a 700R4 with the usual go fast parts and a 2,400 rpm B&M Holeshot locking convertor. I've picked up a Hotchkis TVS suspension and a CPP C5 front brake kit. I've done some bartering and haggling and come up with a rear disc brake set up off a 2000 SS Camaro, some 3:42 gears and an Eaton posi.