80 Z turn signal - intermittent problem

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting & Diagnosis' started by JD Z, Aug 27, 2017.

1. JD Z

JD Z Veteran Member

Turn signals are all working at the moment. I've noticed twice in the past few weeks that the right rear signal was not working and the right brake light was blinking faintly. No orange turn signal blinking, but the red tail light blinking faintly when it happens. Again all working perfectly today.

Any thoughts on what might be occurring? I'm new to the older car world, so I've got much to learn. I have the wiring diagram from barnfind79 that I haven't printed out yet. Thanks for your words of wisdom. :)

2. Gary S

Gary S Administrator Lifetime Gold Member

Apr 14, 1999
    Bismarck, North Dakota
    That sounds like a bad ground at the tail light. The power is leaking through the ground and causing the wrong bulb to flash.

3. JD Z

JD Z Veteran Member

Sounds favorable. If it acts up again, should I check and clean all bulb connections on the left rear? Or is there a specific ground to check?

4. JD Z

JD Z Veteran Member

More findings on the signals. The backup bulbs were bad and now replaced. Still the same issue, but I've narrowed in on what they are doing. Tests of various situations reveal the following:

(Lights ON, reverse lights OFF) - right signal blinks dim along with tail light blinking dim and corner light blinking dim

(Lights ON, reverse lights ON) - right signal solid very dim, tail light dim and no corner light…reverse light dim

(Lights OFF, reverse lights OFF) - right signal blinks ok with tail light off and corner light off

(Lights OFF, reverse lights ON) - SLOW blink…right signal blinks very dim with tail light blinking dim and corner light dim…reverse light blinking

So the question is, what points in the car should I check as far as ground issues? Or any other suggestions would be welcome.

5. JD Z

JD Z Veteran Member