'78 Z28 - Pro Touring Or Bust

Discussion in 'Project Progress' started by PFZ28, Aug 6, 2010.

1. PFZ28

PFZ28 Veteran Member

Dec 6, 2009
    ThornTown, Colorado
    Well, here goes. Took me 4 years (at least) to get up the gumption to sell my '68 Chevelle. But now that it's done and I have the cash in hand, it's time to rebuild my '78 Z28 from high school.

[​IMG]IMG_1412 by pfz28, on Flickr

[​IMG]IMG_1415 by pfz28, on Flickr

I bought this car not running in the summer of 1985 before my senior year in high school. I rebuilt the engine with my dad and it has run faithfully ever since. Even though I've barely put 1000 miles on it each year since I graduated from college, it still starts and runs the same as it ever did. Good ol' Rochester Quadrajet. Even after sitting all winter, it will start on the third try every time.

[​IMG]IMG_1413 by pfz28, on Flickr

I had it painted in the summer of 1987. It was black cherry - black underneath candy apple red. Hard to explain, but the effect was blacker than black until the sun hit it. As it sat outside over the years, the paint deteriorated. It was actually still pretty good up until about 10 years ago, then it really fell apart.

[​IMG]78ZSide by pfz28, on Flickr

So, it will again be black cherry when I get done. Now Mazda has a factory color that's close enough to use this time around.

[​IMG]78ZGlint by pfz28, on Flickr

More pics later. Wish me luck, I'll need it.

Last edited: Sep 27, 2014
  2. Tom350

Tom350 Member

Dec 5, 2009
    Las cruces
    What happened to your turbines?):

3. RC79camaro

RC79camaro Veteran Member

Sep 11, 2007
    Greenville, SC
    Best of luck with the project!

My friend had a 68 too I love the smaller tailights so much more over the 69s

4. PFZ28

PFZ28 Veteran Member

Dec 6, 2009
    ThornTown, Colorado
    Turbines