1979 Camaro project issues

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting & Diagnosis' started by Michael Neuman, Oct 16, 2017.

1. Michael Neuman

Michael Neuman New Member

Oct 8, 2017
    Hey, I’m new here, heck new to working with cars all together but figured it’s give the family something to do together, I got a 1979 Camaro from my wife’s Uncle who bought it from someone else. All he really knows about it what he was told is it has 383 stroker with 350turbo transmission, camel hump heads and. Edelbrock carburetor. He literally had the car for over two years and maybe drove it 3-4 times. Again I’m new to working on engines. The issues we are having with it is when driving it once it’s in 3rd it won’t go over 2500rpm and it won’t get over 55mph. If you just sitting and rev it up rpms will get up to 5-6000 just when driving that’s where it stops at. Anyone have any ideas on what the issue can me or where maybe to start. Any help or ideas would really be appreciated

2. DrPepper

DrPepper Member

Aug 29, 2017
    Central VA
    Welcome to a new opportunity to learn about mechanical & electrical 'stuff'. There's a lot of knowledgeable people on the board who are willing to share knowledge and make good suggestions.
    You say "when driving it once it’s in 3rd it won’t go over 2500rpm". Will it go over 2500 rpm in 1st or 2nd? This could be a transmission issue.

3. cadillac_al

cadillac_al Veteran Member

Apr 22, 2015
    Maine
    Does it still have the catalytic converter? It could be clogged. It could also be lack of fuel form a clogged filter or weak fuel pump.

4. Michael Neuman

Oct 8, 2017
    It doesn’t have the catalytic converter on there. I haven’t changed out the fuel filter since I got it. The fuel pressure gauge is set at 6psi. When you turn the key on it takes a couple seconds build up pressure. And 1st and 2nd it does go over 2500

5. DrPepper

DrPepper Member

Aug 29, 2017
    Central VA