NastyZ28 Forum



Go Back   NastyZ28.com > Drivetrain & Performance > High Tech Retrofits
User Name
Password

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-03-2012, 12:35:31 PM   #1
Protour-Camaro
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,633
LS Harness Location

I know plenty of swaps here and hopefully an easy question....

Do you guys drill a new hole in the firewall for the F-body harness or do you splice it into the factory sec gen harness?

If you drill a hole, where have you done it? Pics would be great! Thanks
Protour-Camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 01:06:20 PM   #2
nuttyprofessor
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: cream ridge, nj
Posts: 142
I got a standalone wiring harness and ECM from PSI conversions. I had my motor installed then laid out the wiring harness and the best location for a new hole was on the firewall almost directly behind the passenger side fuel rail. I was then able to mount the ECM under the dash and out of the way above the glovebox. The relay and fuse panel included in the harness i installed just above the passenger side kick panel. I might have some pics on my project thread. I will try to take more detailed photos of where i laid things out to give you some ideas.

Remember there is no right or wrong way to install it. As long as you are happy with the results and it functions properly
__________________
My slow but steady project progress thread: http://www.nastyz28.com/forum/showthread.php?t=238019
nuttyprofessor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 01:24:37 PM   #3
Protour-Camaro
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,633
Like this?

Protour-Camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 11:27:40 AM   #4
nuttyprofessor
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: cream ridge, nj
Posts: 142
Yes, i ran mine in the similar location, although my engin ebay doesn't look half as nice as that one.
__________________
My slow but steady project progress thread: http://www.nastyz28.com/forum/showthread.php?t=238019
nuttyprofessor is offline   Reply With Quote
Messages from Our Sponsors !
Awesome NastyZ28.com Merchandise !!

T-shirts, wearing apparel

Drinkware, Mouse Pads, Decals

Old 09-05-2012, 07:11:39 PM   #5
tjb408
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: pomeroy ohio
Posts: 6
mine is an 81 so it had an existing hole in the firewall behind where the distributer was so i plan on using it and mounting the ecm in the front of the console.
tjb408 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 07:18:05 PM   #6
Aceshigh
Pimp Micktastic
 
Aceshigh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Boondocks
Posts: 26,768
I expanded a hole that was high on the passenger side of my firewall.
You can see a black box there now that's the American Autowire 175amp fuse.
My fuel pump relay is to the left of it.

Then I routed the harness inside the car there, and mounted my PCM on
the opposite side with industrial velcro. This is an unfinished engine bay pic.

__________________
Be Loyal to Quality , not a Brand.
Aceshigh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 08:48:05 PM   #7
Leonards78LT
Lifetime Gold Member
 
Leonards78LT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Central Oklahoma
Posts: 925
Location of my computer is on the left side firewall behind the fender well.
The location is perfect, and has a large flat area to mount the bracket.



The computer is secured and protected.



You can barely see the connectors from the engine compartment. The only wiring going to the inside is for the torque converter lock up, cruise control, MIL and DLC and brake switch.



A hole was cut into the fender well to be able to access the pcm.



Made a access cover.



Finished engine compartment

__________________
My toy since June 1983: 1978 Camaro Type LT: Iron block LS6, 2004R, 3.42 posi. Boulevard Bruiser, Hi-Way Cruiser
http://www.chevythunder.com/my_1978_camaro_type_lt.htm

Wife's toy since April '78- 1973 Mustang Grande 351C 2V #'s match.
http://www.chevythunder.com/1973%20F...ang%201999.jpg

DD's
2001 Buick Century "cream puff"
2006 Silverado ext. 5.3L L59
Leonards78LT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 04:09:48 AM   #8
Tool
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Yarth
Posts: 8
Wow. So cool. I'd love to do a turbo charged LS second gen.
__________________
Hi my name is Larry. I lurk a lot. I don't post anything useful. I like to waste bandwidth.
Tool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 07:20:49 PM   #9
Protour-Camaro
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,633
Gents,

What about the factory engine harness? Did you just cut it and block it off at the fuse block? None of the factory wires are re-used?
Protour-Camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 10:02:32 PM   #10
Leonards78LT
Lifetime Gold Member
 
Leonards78LT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Central Oklahoma
Posts: 925
I built my own harness from scratch and the fuse box is from a mid 90's FWD.
This is a picture of the fusebox mounted on the left front fender wheel.
__________________
My toy since June 1983: 1978 Camaro Type LT: Iron block LS6, 2004R, 3.42 posi. Boulevard Bruiser, Hi-Way Cruiser
http://www.chevythunder.com/my_1978_camaro_type_lt.htm

Wife's toy since April '78- 1973 Mustang Grande 351C 2V #'s match.
http://www.chevythunder.com/1973%20F...ang%201999.jpg

DD's
2001 Buick Century "cream puff"
2006 Silverado ext. 5.3L L59
Leonards78LT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 11:37:53 PM   #11
nuttyprofessor
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: cream ridge, nj
Posts: 142
i put some photos in my progress thread.

Basically ran the wiring harness through the hole that the blower motor uses, just enlarged it to 2"
The i had a 99 f-body ECM mount so i took some angle iron and using the f-body mount was able to tuck the ecm under the dash above the glovebox.
__________________
My slow but steady project progress thread: http://www.nastyz28.com/forum/showthread.php?t=238019
nuttyprofessor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 06:01:36 AM   #12
Christian GM
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leonards78LT
Location of my computer is on the left side firewall behind the fender well.
The location is perfect, and has a large flat area to mount the bracket.



The computer is secured and protected.

hi,
I put mine in the same location, but I used a Corvette bracket.
Onestly I don't like the ECM bracket so much.
I would like to change and use the same as your.
what bracket is? from what donor vehicle?
thank you for sharing

bye
Christian GM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 09:15:55 PM   #13
Leonards78LT
Lifetime Gold Member
 
Leonards78LT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Central Oklahoma
Posts: 925
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christian GM
hi,
I put mine in the same location, but I used a Corvette bracket.
Onestly I don't like the ECM bracket so much.
I would like to change and use the same as your.
what bracket is? from what donor vehicle?
thank you for sharing

bye

The bracket I used is from the 2001 and later s-10 pick up, the blazer's will work as well.
__________________
My toy since June 1983: 1978 Camaro Type LT: Iron block LS6, 2004R, 3.42 posi. Boulevard Bruiser, Hi-Way Cruiser
http://www.chevythunder.com/my_1978_camaro_type_lt.htm

Wife's toy since April '78- 1973 Mustang Grande 351C 2V #'s match.
http://www.chevythunder.com/1973%20F...ang%201999.jpg

DD's
2001 Buick Century "cream puff"
2006 Silverado ext. 5.3L L59
Leonards78LT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 10:53:45 PM   #14
OsborneConst
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 629
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aceshigh


Ace, not trying to thread jack, but what blue is this, are the stripes grey or white, and where can I see more pictures?
__________________
1979 Z28
6.0 4L80E

Project progress thread:

http://www.nastyz28.com/forum/showthread.php?t=225592

What I do during the day:

http://www.OsborneConstruction.biz
OsborneConst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 12:36:14 PM   #15
my73Fcarproject
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: phoenix, az
Posts: 81
factory a/c??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Protour-Camaro
Like this?


I've got a 73 factory air car, is my LS going to fit in there or do I HAVE to swap in a vintage air kit?

Many thanks
my73Fcarproject is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



Copyright © 1997 - 2014 NastyZ28.com Inc.
Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.