NastyZ28 Forum



Go Back   NastyZ28.com > Drivetrain & Performance > High Tech Retrofits
User Name
Password

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2012, 05:55:23 PM   #1
skullcrusher73
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: waco,tx
Posts: 64
T56 adaptor plate from the gear box?

Has anyone used this when doing a conversion? The adaptor plate has a muncie bearing retainer. How do you remove the T56 bearing retainer ? Or are suppose to?
Can anyone tell me the correct way to install the adaptor plate? Thanks for your help!
skullcrusher73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 12:00:10 AM   #2
1980RS
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,436
Quote:
Originally Posted by skullcrusher73
Has anyone used this when doing a conversion? The adaptor plate has a muncie bearing retainer. How do you remove the T56 bearing retainer ? Or are suppose to?
Can anyone tell me the correct way to install the adaptor plate? Thanks for your help!

It works great, I did use one last year. You bolt the plate to the bellhousing with the supplied bolts the just bolt the trans up. The retainer stays on the adapter plate. Make sure you do 2 things, Get the extended pilot bushing and No.2 take 2 3" bolts and cut the heads off and then cut in some straight slots so after you get the trans in you can simply trun them back out. The reason for doing this is because as I found out that the T-56 is heavy almost Turbo 400 heavy. once you get the input into the clutch after it's lined up having the blots to slide the trans on makes it real easy.
1980RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 12:12:07 AM   #3
skullcrusher73
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: waco,tx
Posts: 64
You dont have to remove the t56 bearing retainer?
skullcrusher73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 11:49:25 AM   #4
1980RS
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,436
Quote:
Originally Posted by skullcrusher73
You dont have to remove the t56 bearing retainer?

What you think might be a retainer is accually the TO bearing. Just unbolt everything off the front of the trans untill all you see is the input shaft so it looks like this and you are ready to bolt the trans up.

1980RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 11:57:22 AM   #5
skullcrusher73
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: waco,tx
Posts: 64
Thank you for the help man! I know what to do now.
skullcrusher73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 01:55:09 PM   #6
1980RS
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,436
Quote:
Originally Posted by skullcrusher73
Thank you for the help man! I know what to do now.

You are very welcome, When I first looked at doing mine I thought it would be hard to do but it turned out to be pretty easy other than I had to take my tranny out 3 times due to problems with the first one. If you are doing a second gen you may have to cut the floor to make it fit. On my 1st gen there was plenty of room.
1980RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 03:31:05 PM   #7
BonzoHansen
LGM, Admin
 
BonzoHansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Scott from Hamilton, NJ
Posts: 15,319
To add to it.






__________________
Scott from NJ. Stay thirsty, my friends

Vent Windows Forever! ... My junk ... NJ Camaros and Firebirds

The looser the waistband, the deeper the quicksand. Or so I have read.

Bricka bracka firecrakcer shish boom bah, bugs bunny, bugs bunny, rah rah rah!

Feather-light suspension, Konis just couldn't hold. I'm so glad I took a look inside your showroom doors.
BonzoHansen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 12:12:42 AM   #8
skullcrusher73
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: waco,tx
Posts: 64
I got everything set up and had a major set back . When I traded for this T56 I was told that it was a 98 or later tranny. It looked so clean I took the guys word for it. After installing the adaptor plate I realized the input shaft was to short. So now Im in the market for a 98 or later input shaft. The Gearbox is backordering theres currently . If you know where I can find one let me know.

Thanks for insight and the pics!
skullcrusher73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 08:46:11 AM   #9
newschool72
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: forsyth,ga
Posts: 1,173
Go to LS1tech.com. I saw a couple T56 s that are being parted out in the classifieds section. Good Luck !
newschool72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 09:58:35 AM   #10
BonzoHansen
LGM, Admin
 
BonzoHansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Scott from Hamilton, NJ
Posts: 15,319
Quote:
Originally Posted by skullcrusher73
I got everything set up and had a major set back . When I traded for this T56 I was told that it was a 98 or later tranny. It looked so clean I took the guys word for it. After installing the adaptor plate I realized the input shaft was to short. So now Im in the market for a 98 or later input shaft. The Gearbox is backordering theres currently . If you know where I can find one let me know.

Thanks for insight and the pics!
call bob hanlon at www.hanlonmotorsports.com
__________________
Scott from NJ. Stay thirsty, my friends

Vent Windows Forever! ... My junk ... NJ Camaros and Firebirds

The looser the waistband, the deeper the quicksand. Or so I have read.

Bricka bracka firecrakcer shish boom bah, bugs bunny, bugs bunny, rah rah rah!

Feather-light suspension, Konis just couldn't hold. I'm so glad I took a look inside your showroom doors.
BonzoHansen is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 07:22:35 PM   #11
skullcrusher73
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: waco,tx
Posts: 64
Thanks guys I will check it out.
skullcrusher73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 07:34:54 PM   #12
79rstech
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: dallas, tx
Posts: 22
I believe you had to have a pre-98 t-56 to use this plate without changing input shaft. Well i have the same plate and a 97 t-56 that i am not gonna use if you want to work something out as i have changed directions on my car since it is so close to original. Or just change your input. If interested just email me as i am in Dallas.
79rstech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 10:48:22 PM   #13
1980RS
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,436
Quote:
Originally Posted by 79rstech
I believe you had to have a pre-98 t-56 to use this plate without changing input shaft. Well i have the same plate and a 97 t-56 that i am not gonna use if you want to work something out as i have changed directions on my car since it is so close to original. Or just change your input. If interested just email me as i am in Dallas.


The adapter plate will not work with an LT1 trans 97 or older. It is made for the LS1 trans so one would need to change the input shaft and front plate on the tranny, Not a big deal after taking 2 apart last year.
1980RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 08:13:25 PM   #14
skullcrusher73
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: waco,tx
Posts: 64
adaptor plate / input shaft

Thanks for everyones response and insight. My t56 is a pre 98 unit.
I found after searching far and wide an inputshaft for a 98 /later t56.

If you read this can you give me insight into correctly installing a later input shaft?

Is there any shimming or any technical advise you can give me?

Thanks!
skullcrusher73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 10:25:43 PM   #15
BonzoHansen
LGM, Admin
 
BonzoHansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Scott from Hamilton, NJ
Posts: 15,319
this might help:

http://www.njfboa.org/tech/T56_service_manual.pdf
__________________
Scott from NJ. Stay thirsty, my friends

Vent Windows Forever! ... My junk ... NJ Camaros and Firebirds

The looser the waistband, the deeper the quicksand. Or so I have read.

Bricka bracka firecrakcer shish boom bah, bugs bunny, bugs bunny, rah rah rah!

Feather-light suspension, Konis just couldn't hold. I'm so glad I took a look inside your showroom doors.
BonzoHansen is online now   Reply With Quote
Messages from Our Sponsors !
Awesome NastyZ28.com Merchandise !!

T-shirts, wearing apparel

Drinkware, Mouse Pads, Decals

Reply




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



Copyright © 1997 - 2014 NastyZ28.com Inc.
Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.