NastyZ28 Forum

Go Back   NastyZ28.com > Body & Chassis Restoration > Body Restoration
User Name
Password

Old 10-10-2011, 12:00:00 AM   #1
earlysecond
Veteran Member

Opinions on my sprayout

I have been considering the color I would make my car for many years now. I really wanted to keep the Z stripes but feel about half guilty putting them on a base coupe. PLUS I often like the non stripe look on SS cars and other Base cars. The original color of my car was Mulsanne Blue. In my estimation, it is one of THE best Second Gen colors. I just cannot bring myself to paint a car Mulsanne without Black stripes. Hence my dilemma. The solution? Paint the car a non factory color that I really like and then use ghost pearl to apply stirpes. Unless you are at exactly the correct angle, the stripes will not be visable, nor will they be seen from a distance. My goal was to find a color to make a ghost stripe work. There are many options. One day on the SPI side I stumbled on an avatar. It was a car form spray out that had a color that was. . .black, no look closer, a muted blue. I contacted the owner of the avatar and inquired about the color. He looked it up and reported that it was a european color called macht bleau. The translation is midnight blue. I thought that silver or white ghosted stripes would be ideal. The problem with ghost pearl on a dark color is the mix. For a quart of intercoat clear it might only take a screwdriver sized scoop to make the effect. On light colors it takes TONS of additve.

Friday, I bought a 1/2 pint of Midnight Blue (for $32!!) I did a spray out on black primer, waited for the base to dry and began to experiment with ghosted stripes. I began by probably mixing too much additive. I am not sure this is subtle enough. The base is very expensive. The pearl will be VERY inexpensive. SPI intercoat clear is $80 a gallon. I will need less than a quart and probably have enough. The dollar amount of pearl that I will use will be less then 50 cents!