NastyZ28 Forum



Go Back   NastyZ28.com > General Topics > Troubleshooting & Diagnosis
User Name
Password

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2011, 07:22:41 PM   #1
Sweet76
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Appomattox, VA
Posts: 99
Neutral Safety Switch Adjustment

I posted the other night about the location of this switch. I crawled under the dash and found it. Removed the 1/4 inch bolts and the two wires...easy enough. I installed the new one. Adjusted it back and fourth until the car started in Park and the back-up lights came on in Reverse...I thought all was well but it's also starting in Drive...never did this before. I almost hit the shop wall with the drivers door !!...I adjusted the switch several more times with the same results..starting in drive...I also went under the car and tried adjusting the rod running up to it...same deal...starting in drive...the switch that I got from NAPA has some extra wire terminals on it. The original only has four but this one has like 8 terminals...When I questioned this he said that this is a "generic" switch but should work fine. Ive been dealing with this NAPA store for years and this guy is a pretty sharp cookie but after 2 nights of adjusting this entire mechanism and the car still starting in drive I have to wonder if I got the wrong switch...Any ideas, suggestions or advice would surely be appreciated.
__________________
Good gas mileage equals no power which means no fun.
Sweet76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 08:12:43 PM   #2
Twisted_Metal
L. G. M. / Moderator
 
Twisted_Metal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bloomtown, MN
Posts: 22,494
Mine does the same thing. I've never been able to find the sweet spot in the adjustment of all the parts.
(Cable adjustment, back drive linkage and NSS switch.)

Maybe I just lack patience in getting it adjusted properly. )

It's a nice evening... I think I'll give it another shot.
Twisted_Metal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 09:05:45 PM   #3
Sweet76
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Appomattox, VA
Posts: 99
Thanks Twisted, I just don't like the idea of my car starting in "drive" !!
__________________
Good gas mileage equals no power which means no fun.
Sweet76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 10:45:57 PM   #4
Twisted_Metal
L. G. M. / Moderator
 
Twisted_Metal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bloomtown, MN
Posts: 22,494
Dammit... I just wasted two hours trying to get it right.
It's so close but I still can't make it hit 2nd with the slap shifter. (From 1st to 2nd.)

And it still starts in OD too.
(ShiftWorks kit on a stock shifter with a 200-4R.)

I may have to tweak the bracket to get the gears right.
Twisted_Metal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 03:43:53 AM   #5
hogg
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: pegram,tn.,cheatam
Posts: 2,032
Did you try to adjust the pointer a string atached to the colum with a screw,or check for slack in the rods under the hood
hogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 02:45:14 PM   #6
frank5s
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Naperville Il
Posts: 108
try googling the number off the old switch if you still have it. Also Rock auto shows several different switch one might be better than a generic
frank5s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 05:29:25 PM   #7
Sweet76
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Appomattox, VA
Posts: 99
Im thinking that there may be some slack somewhere. It's the original stuff so its 35 years old. I noticed that it don't take much to throw it off. Im also going to search for another switch.

Thanks for your input.
__________________
Good gas mileage equals no power which means no fun.
Sweet76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 05:59:34 PM   #8
Gary S
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Bismarck, North Dakota
Posts: 17,745
Have you tried adjusting your old switch? If it is the original GM switch, there is a good chance it will align better than the replacements.
Gary S is offline   Reply With Quote
Messages from Our Sponsors !
Awesome NastyZ28.com Merchandise !!

T-shirts, wearing apparel

Drinkware, Mouse Pads, Decals

Old 08-11-2011, 06:42:57 PM   #9
Sweet76
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Appomattox, VA
Posts: 99
I havent tried that Gary. I beleive that there was nothing wrong with the original switch now. Could it be that from having the transmission out a couple of times that the mechanism just simply got out of adjustment ?? Im considering putting the old switch back in like you said and trying it again. The NAPA generic switch has like 6 terminals and my original has only 4 so I can see were your coming from.

Thanks again for all your help.
__________________
Good gas mileage equals no power which means no fun.
Sweet76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 07:06:36 PM   #10
oledave60
Veteran Member
 
oledave60's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: E. Texas
Posts: 636
The switch on my 73 had 6 spades. The extra two were for the seat belt wires. I am not using them and it doesen't effect the starting.
oledave60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



Copyright © 1997 - 2014 NastyZ28.com Inc.
Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.