NastyZ28 Forum



Go Back   NastyZ28.com > Drivetrain & Performance > Engine Topic
User Name
Password

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-07-2010, 05:07:56 PM   #1
Eric_04
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oakfield, WI
Posts: 169
How to install motor mounts??

Hey all, I have a 76 camaro and am going to be putting in new motor mounts before I put my motor back in, but my question is how the heck do you get to the nuts for the motor mount bolts? The passenger side kinda has access holes in the subframe but the driver side has nothing. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Eric_04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 06:35:07 PM   #2
Danish Guy
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 157
Use some fishing line to put in the bolts from below and put the nuts on top of the motor mounts just did it myself it is a 20 min job.
__________________
If you want more inches, stroke it

My 76 LT Build:
http://www.nastyz28.com/forum/showthread.php?t=178855

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TjhkgfusAYM
Danish Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 10:25:58 PM   #3
Eric_04
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oakfield, WI
Posts: 169
Thats a good idea but how did you get to them to take the nuts off in the first place? Did you have to take the front tires off and the wedge your arm between the control arms to get to them?
Eric_04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 10:50:36 PM   #4
OldCamaroNut
Gold Member
 
OldCamaroNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Trenton, NJ
Posts: 923
I did it without taking the tires off. I used a distributor wrench to hold the nuts and removed the bolts from the top. I then used fishing line as mentioned and pulled the bolts up from the bottom, got on them with the distributor wrench with a little duct tape to keep the bolts from falling through and put the nuts on top.
__________________
SOLD <sigh> 1979 RS weighs 3580 lbs. with me in it. 406 w/ Victor Jr, Pro Systems 850 CFM carb, Pro Topline 220cc heads, solid roller cam with .630 lift, 264-270 duration @.050, Ross -5cc racing pistons, 12.5 to 1 compression, Forged crank and rods, splayed 4 bolt mains, 1.875" headers. Converter stalls at 3200, Trans Specialties turbo 350, 4.10 gears. Fastest to date is 10.67 @ 124.
OldCamaroNut is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 07:54:02 AM   #5
Steve's 77
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Milton, Vermont
Posts: 167
Hi Eric: I'm doing this job right now. I had one heck of a time getting the old mounts off and thought when the time came to put the new ones on I would try the fishing line idea. No way man. That is just too frustrating. I dropped the lower control arms (just one side so far) which allows you the room to get your fingers in there and put the nuts on the bolts. I was afraid even if I was able to get the bolts in there that it would be next to impossible to torque them down enough so I was satisfied with the job. It is one B..tch of a job I'm sorry to say, but mine are 33 years old and I have a vibration I'm trying to chase. Oh....and now I can replace my coil springs which I cut a full coil off of a couple years ago. MISTAKE...cut too much off. Car is too low. Have fun and don't cuss too bad. Don't throw anything. Later
Steve's 77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 08:08:49 AM   #6
theflash
Lifetime Gold Member
 
theflash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Podunk, CT
Posts: 10,945
Has it been a week already since this was asked?

__________________
.
.
If I'm curt with you, it's because time is a factor here. I think fast, I talk fast, and I need you guys to act fast if you want to get out of this. So, pretty please, with sugar on top, clean the f'ing car.

I am the proud parent of a child whose self-esteem is sufficient that she doesn’t need me advertising her minor scholastic achievements on the bumper of my car
theflash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 12:15:46 PM   #7
OldCamaroNut
Gold Member
 
OldCamaroNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Trenton, NJ
Posts: 923
What's frustrating about using fishing line? The fact that it coils up and doesn't go all the way through when you're trying to feed it down? I tied a small nut to the line so that the weight of the nut pulled the line through to the bottom. Problem solved. And a whole lot easier than removing a control arm, IMHO. And the job went very fast and easy. Again, I used a distributor wrench to hold the bolt in place and tightened the nut down as tight as I wanted. I am not at all worried about the mounts being secured properly.
__________________
SOLD <sigh> 1979 RS weighs 3580 lbs. with me in it. 406 w/ Victor Jr, Pro Systems 850 CFM carb, Pro Topline 220cc heads, solid roller cam with .630 lift, 264-270 duration @.050, Ross -5cc racing pistons, 12.5 to 1 compression, Forged crank and rods, splayed 4 bolt mains, 1.875" headers. Converter stalls at 3200, Trans Specialties turbo 350, 4.10 gears. Fastest to date is 10.67 @ 124.

Last edited by OldCamaroNut : 05-09-2010 at 12:18:39 PM.
OldCamaroNut is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 01:55:36 PM   #8
Eric_04
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oakfield, WI
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by theflash
Has it been a week already since this was asked?


I tried the search 7 times over the course of an hour or so before I posted this question and it didn't work once.

Im gonna try the fishing line first because I dont feel like taking my control arms apart, but if I were putting springs in or new control arm bushings in it would be a different story. Hopefully it goes somewhat easily, tonights project when I get home.
Eric_04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 11:26:00 AM   #9
OldCamaroNut
Gold Member
 
OldCamaroNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Trenton, NJ
Posts: 923
How'd it go?
__________________
SOLD <sigh> 1979 RS weighs 3580 lbs. with me in it. 406 w/ Victor Jr, Pro Systems 850 CFM carb, Pro Topline 220cc heads, solid roller cam with .630 lift, 264-270 duration @.050, Ross -5cc racing pistons, 12.5 to 1 compression, Forged crank and rods, splayed 4 bolt mains, 1.875" headers. Converter stalls at 3200, Trans Specialties turbo 350, 4.10 gears. Fastest to date is 10.67 @ 124.
OldCamaroNut is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 02:17:55 PM   #10
1980camaroguy
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Monroe, Mich.
Posts: 225
Distributor wrench and alot of patience. A second set of hands to help remove and tighten helps too. Mine took half a day by myself removing from parts car but then 20 minutes to reinstall with extra set of hands on my car. Good luck.
1980camaroguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 04:02:04 PM   #11
badazz81z28
BANNED
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: MO, USA!
Posts: 9,843
Took me 20 minutes (by myself) . Its not that complicated.

Drill a hole on the drive side just like the passenger side. Stick the wrech in with tape behind it to retain the nut (opposite for install). I used fishline for the single lower bolt to pull it up through the hole and install the nut. Once I did it, I was amazed how some made me feel it was so trivial.
badazz81z28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 05:40:33 PM   #12
Eric_04
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oakfield, WI
Posts: 169
The new ones are in now it was kind of a pita but all in all not that bad. I used some string, a distributor wrench, and some duct tape and 45 minutes later they were in. Probably would of been easier with a second set of hands but I made it work. Thanks for all the tips.
Eric_04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Messages from Our Sponsors !
Awesome NastyZ28.com Merchandise !!

T-shirts, wearing apparel

Drinkware, Mouse Pads, Decals

Old 06-10-2011, 11:06:26 PM   #13
dcart1
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: springfield,ohio
Posts: 341
Did mine today using a magnetic pocket pen. It was small and put nut on end. Pushed it right up to and through hole from the bottom. Quick and easier than fishing line.
dcart1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 10:59:25 PM   #14
crome dome
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Round rock Texas
Posts: 525
Here's how I cured mine forever but you gotta have the lower control arms out.
http://www.nastyz28.com/forum/showthread.php?t=210150
crome dome is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



Copyright © 1997 - 2014 NastyZ28.com Inc.
Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.