NastyZ28 Forum



Go Back   NastyZ28.com > Body & Chassis Restoration > Electrical Systems
User Name
Password

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-12-2009, 01:49:22 AM   #1
Shakedown
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 154
Fusible link...

My fusible link is giving me nothing but problems. the plastic casing thing holding it has a bad spring in it or something, and it seems that the fuse is loose in the casing.

I am about to replace it with a new fusible link, but I was wondering your guys take on these:

Are they necessary? If they are, why is it in my best interest to have one?

Can I solder in new wire to replace/delete it?


Please tell me what you think. Thanks a lot.
__________________
Located near Chicago, IL
Built not bought

1979 Camaro Hard Top
Fresh 350, MSD Ignition, Edelbrock Intake, Headers, Flowmaster Exhaust system, HID Conversion, fresh interior. Fresh 3.73 Posi
Summer car

I NEED: Door panels (daily driver condition), 4 speed parts possibly. Z28 Gauge cluster. PM ME if you have parts THANKS.


1988 Pontiac Trans Am. 305/5 speed/ T Tops car. Daily driver.
Shakedown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 09:53:55 AM   #2
Erics69
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Winchester KY
Posts: 157
Since fuse-able links were original to your wiring you should just replace the link you are having problems with. They are not at all necessary but are nice. All they do is protect a certain circuit from overload that could cause a fire or other electrical problems. If a circuit develops too much load for a wire to handle but not enough load to blow a fuse block fuse they have a fuse able link which as you know is nothing but a fuse inline that protects that circuit. You should replace it. But I've always had first gen Camaro's which never have had fuseable links and have never had any problems. It's your choice weather you want to or not.
Erics69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 11:02:53 AM   #3
Shakedown
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 154
Thanks for your opinion. Right now i'm 50/50. I could go either way. I just want to see what people say on here. I'm sure if I replace the the one I have now with a new one, I will be just fine. And I guess if I was going to solder a wire in there anyways, why not just solder a new fusible link instead...

I guess I have some thinking to do.

Thanks
__________________
Located near Chicago, IL
Built not bought

1979 Camaro Hard Top
Fresh 350, MSD Ignition, Edelbrock Intake, Headers, Flowmaster Exhaust system, HID Conversion, fresh interior. Fresh 3.73 Posi
Summer car

I NEED: Door panels (daily driver condition), 4 speed parts possibly. Z28 Gauge cluster. PM ME if you have parts THANKS.


1988 Pontiac Trans Am. 305/5 speed/ T Tops car. Daily driver.
Shakedown is offline   Reply With Quote
Messages from Our Sponsors !
Awesome NastyZ28.com Merchandise !!

T-shirts, wearing apparel

Drinkware, Mouse Pads, Decals

Old 08-12-2009, 11:14:24 AM   #4
onovakind67
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Fairfield, CA
Posts: 4,439
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erics69
Since fuse-able links were original to your wiring you should just replace the link you are having problems with. They are not at all necessary but are nice. All they do is protect a certain circuit from overload that could cause a fire or other electrical problems. If a circuit develops too much load for a wire to handle but not enough load to blow a fuse block fuse they have a fuse able link which as you know is nothing but a fuse inline that protects that circuit. You should replace it. But I've always had first gen Camaro's which never have had fuseable links and have never had any problems. It's your choice weather you want to or not.

A fusible link is there to protect the wiring, not the devices in the circuit. If large amounts of smoke and flames are what you are looking for, remove the fusible link.
I'd be interested to see the wiring diagram of the particular Camaro you owned without a fusible link. Here's one from a 1967:

__________________
Horse sense is the thing a horse has which keeps it from betting on people.
onovakind67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 11:21:20 AM   #5
EricsZ28
Lifetime Gold Member
 
EricsZ28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Here and there...
Posts: 3,487
I agree, put it back in.

When I put the fusible links back into my '80 (the previous owner's mechanic had removed them), I connected one end to a connector (that bolted to the starter) and I soldered the other end to the wire. I used heat shrink on the connections as well.
EricsZ28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 11:21:34 AM   #6
MadMike
Dr. Feelgood
 
MadMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Dawsonville Georgia
Posts: 13,292
What circuit is this?

A fuseable link is a wire, 4 guages smaller than the circuit it's protecting.

What I think you're describing is an inline fuse - like you'd find in a radio circuit... a plastic case with a glass or ATO style fuse spliced inline. That's why you're talking about a spring & a case... I think?

A fuse is a fuse... fusable links are typically used in something that's designed into the system as a whole, whereas an inline fuse is often used to something that's being added to a system. As long as the circuit is protected appropriately, I don't think the style of fuse matters.
MadMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 12:42:23 PM   #7
Shakedown
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 154
The "inline fuse" is what I think I am using. It is the plastic case with the spring.

They have always worked fine for me in the past, but for some reason, the spring in this case is just very bad. I am definitely going to use a new one, like you guys have advised me to do, instead of replacing the fusible link with wire.
__________________
Located near Chicago, IL
Built not bought

1979 Camaro Hard Top
Fresh 350, MSD Ignition, Edelbrock Intake, Headers, Flowmaster Exhaust system, HID Conversion, fresh interior. Fresh 3.73 Posi
Summer car

I NEED: Door panels (daily driver condition), 4 speed parts possibly. Z28 Gauge cluster. PM ME if you have parts THANKS.


1988 Pontiac Trans Am. 305/5 speed/ T Tops car. Daily driver.
Shakedown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 12:47:00 PM   #8
79camaro2001
Lifetime Gold Member
 
79camaro2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Monroeville, PA
Posts: 4,758
Where is this inline fuse located?
__________________
Check out my camaro
1979 Camaro picture site
79camaro2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 02:31:32 PM   #9
Shakedown
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 154
The inline fuse was going right to the starter. But I relocated it further up the wiring, up by my firewall/cowl, and i'm glad I did because its so much more accessible now.
__________________
Located near Chicago, IL
Built not bought

1979 Camaro Hard Top
Fresh 350, MSD Ignition, Edelbrock Intake, Headers, Flowmaster Exhaust system, HID Conversion, fresh interior. Fresh 3.73 Posi
Summer car

I NEED: Door panels (daily driver condition), 4 speed parts possibly. Z28 Gauge cluster. PM ME if you have parts THANKS.


1988 Pontiac Trans Am. 305/5 speed/ T Tops car. Daily driver.
Shakedown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 02:32:02 PM   #10
Shakedown
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 154
Let me add that its still going to the starter now. Its just located further up.
__________________
Located near Chicago, IL
Built not bought

1979 Camaro Hard Top
Fresh 350, MSD Ignition, Edelbrock Intake, Headers, Flowmaster Exhaust system, HID Conversion, fresh interior. Fresh 3.73 Posi
Summer car

I NEED: Door panels (daily driver condition), 4 speed parts possibly. Z28 Gauge cluster. PM ME if you have parts THANKS.


1988 Pontiac Trans Am. 305/5 speed/ T Tops car. Daily driver.
Shakedown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 05:16:14 PM   #11
gin man
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Morris, Il
Posts: 1,920
One thing to consider is that if you continue to have issues with the fuse, it may be because it can't handle the inrush current for starter as easily as a fusible link and may fatigue over time.
__________________
1970 RS, 350, 4 speed, original owner.
gin man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 05:31:53 PM   #12
MadMike
Dr. Feelgood
 
MadMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Dawsonville Georgia
Posts: 13,292
Another observation from the peanut gallery - in 1979 the fuse in the wire you're talking about was originally a fuseable link. Sounds like it popped sometime in the past and someone put an inline fuse into that wire rather than use a fusable link. 6 of 1 - 1/2 dozen of another - but sounds like something may have happened to that wire in the past. The wire your talking about should be black... 2 black wires together with a heavy lug going to the BAT post on the starter. Those have/had fuseable links in them cause that's the power distribution point for the rest of your car.
MadMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 05:38:43 PM   #13
MadMike
Dr. Feelgood
 
MadMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Dawsonville Georgia
Posts: 13,292
Correcting myself above - in 1980 they're black. In 1978 there is 1 wire - red, 14 guage - protecting a 10 guage red (that you probably can't see). I don't know if 79 is similar to 78 or 80, but regardless....

You need to be careful where you put the fuse because there's a splice (crimp) in that wire that distributes power to different places. The fuse is right after the starter to kill the car dead if there's a problem.
MadMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 07:18:41 PM   #14
Gary S
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Bismarck, North Dakota
Posts: 18,025
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shakedown
The "inline fuse" is what I think I am using. It is the plastic case with the spring.

They have always worked fine for me in the past, but for some reason, the spring in this case is just very bad. I am definitely going to use a new one, like you guys have advised me to do, instead of replacing the fusible link with wire.

Get rid of the fuse and put in a fusable link. a fuse and all the messy connections it takes to put it together will never be reliable as you already have found out. There are very good reasons that GM used fusable links instead of fuse.
Gary S is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



Copyright © 1997 - 2014 NastyZ28.com Inc.
Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.