NastyZ28 Forum



Go Back   NastyZ28.com > Drivetrain & Performance > High Performance Modifications
User Name
Password

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2009, 09:41:56 PM   #1
80-z28
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Orleans, La
Posts: 521
Dart Iron Eagle Heads

I want to thank everyone for all of your info. on the intake question.
I will probably have to stick with the stock intake on my car because of the height issue with the factory air induction.
My next upgrade will probably be with the heads and a stock q-jet replacement by holley.
Does anyone have any opinions on the dart iron eagle heads?
What kind of horsepower/ compression should I expect with the following set up with 64cc heads and a little porting on my stock intake?

350 .030 over
Sealed Power flat top pistons w/4 valve reliefs
Stock crank
Comp XE268 hydraulic flat tappet cam 268 intake 280 exhaust .477/.480lift
Hooker ceramic shorty headers
2 1/2" dual exhaust w/super 44 flow master mufflers
Summit HEI ignition
80-z28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 10:32:38 PM   #2
sooner
Lifetime Gold Member
 
sooner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Perry,Ok
Posts: 1,407
Iron eagles are decent heads. Just looking at flow numbers, you could do alot better with a set of canfield 195's. The canfields out flow the Iron eagle 200's accross the board and give up only peak flow numbers to the iron eagle platinum 200 while smoking them in midlift flow. they will run you another $100-$150 bucks or so, and are aluminum to boot. JMHO.
__________________
1997 ws6 t/a
sooner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 11:43:21 PM   #3
trmnatr
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 649
Quote:
Originally Posted by soonerjay
Iron eagles are decent heads. Just looking at flow numbers, you could do alot better with a set of canfield 195's. The canfields out flow the Iron eagle 200's accross the board and give up only peak flow numbers to the iron eagle platinum 200 while smoking them in midlift flow. they will run you another $100-$150 bucks or so, and are aluminum to boot. JMHO.

For some goofy reasons the Dart heads run much better than you would think by looking at their flow numbers,,, Dont know why

Look how well the old sportsman II heads ran in the day, they only flow like 233cfm

Dart Iron Eagles are much better than the Sportsman II

I use old style Dart Iron Eagles on my 327, 215cc runner
__________________
Join the Probe Industries Mailing List For News & Specials
http://www.probeindustries.com/Maili..._subscribe.asp
Coast High Performance 90 Day Layaway Program With Incentives Like NO INTEREST, NO FINANCE CHARGES AND ZERO SERVICE FEE'S!!!! SEE LINK FOR DETAILS!!!!
http://www.coasthigh.com/articles.asp?ID=284
trmnatr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 12:42:15 AM   #4
yobin67
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Md.
Posts: 610
I replaced my old Sportsman II's with Iron Eagle 230's.Best with old heads was around 11.60's,new bests are in signature.
__________________
pump gas 355,3400lbs,11.31@119.4
100 shot NOS,little less gear,all else the same 10.85@125
http://i553.photobucket.com/albums/j...7/IMG_0129.jpg
http://i553.photobucket.com/albums/j...7/IMG_0125.jpg
yobin67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 10:18:44 AM   #5
80'427
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Fairbury, NE, USA
Posts: 1,886
They really don't flow that well. I have a set of 180 IEs that I like alot but vortecs kick the crap out of them. The kick the crap out of 200s as well.
80'427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 06:01:23 PM   #6
EricsZ28
Lifetime Gold Member
 
EricsZ28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Here and there...
Posts: 3,488
Quote:
Originally Posted by 80-z28
I want to thank everyone for all of your info. on the intake question.
I will probably have to stick with the stock intake on my car because of the height issue with the factory air induction.

Well, I missed your other thread, but I'll comment here. No, your original air-induction air cleaner will not fit on top of a qjet sitting on a Performer RPM intake.

However, you can certainly fit a qjet/holley on a Performer RPM intake under your stock hood - with a drop based air cleaner.

If you are feeling a bit more bold, you can do this:
http://www.nastyz28.com/forum/showth...highlight=hood

As you can see, I didn't let a stock intake & the air induction air cleaner hold me back lol. I think your intake and carb are going to hold you back a bit once you put some decent heads on that engine.
EricsZ28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 08:04:39 PM   #7
trmnatr
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 649
Quote:
Originally Posted by 80'427
They really don't flow that well. I have a set of 180 IEs that I like alot but vortecs kick the crap out of them. The kick the crap out of 200s as well.

Flow bench is a tool, not the answer

Dart heads flow numbers dont look like they will support the power they do BUT they do

Dart is more concerned what the fuel is doing and not the air because if the fuel is not mixed with air we dont have power,, Dart uses a wet flow bench

As a matter of fact almost all head designers use a wet flow bench even 30 years ago,,,, THE ENGINE

Good reading below,,,,

Click on link
http://www.rehermorrison.com/

click on "tech talk" at the top

click on article #16 "Flow Bench Fallacies"
__________________
Join the Probe Industries Mailing List For News & Specials
http://www.probeindustries.com/Maili..._subscribe.asp
Coast High Performance 90 Day Layaway Program With Incentives Like NO INTEREST, NO FINANCE CHARGES AND ZERO SERVICE FEE'S!!!! SEE LINK FOR DETAILS!!!!
http://www.coasthigh.com/articles.asp?ID=284
trmnatr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 08:16:02 PM   #8
a550550
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: minnesota
Posts: 604
Make sure your intake runners are as tall as the ports on the Darts. I know thje 230's have taller ports, and stock intakes will not cover
__________________
1971 Z28
My other toys
1970 Toyota Landcruiser-The Grocery getter
1985 BJ74 Toyota turbo diesel
1971 Chevy Shortbox--sadly-gone
468 CU IN BBC
550HP
550TQ
a550550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Messages from Our Sponsors !
Awesome NastyZ28.com Merchandise !!

T-shirts, wearing apparel

Drinkware, Mouse Pads, Decals

Old 05-07-2009, 11:57:15 AM   #9
80'427
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Fairbury, NE, USA
Posts: 1,886
Quote:
Originally Posted by trmnatr
Flow bench is a tool, not the answer

Dart heads flow numbers dont look like they will support the power they do BUT they do

Dart is more concerned what the fuel is doing and not the air because if the fuel is not mixed with air we dont have power,, Dart uses a wet flow bench

As a matter of fact almost all head designers use a wet flow bench even 30 years ago,,,, THE ENGINE

Good reading below,,,,

Click on link
http://www.rehermorrison.com/

click on "tech talk" at the top

click on article #16 "Flow Bench Fallacies"

I agree 100% but with the limited info it does give me I look at low lift flow because thats where the valve spends most of its time. The vortec flows 20 cfm better between .2-.4 and falls off above .500 lift. I am still waiting to get a engine dyno but I want to do back to back test to prove them out.
80'427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



Copyright © 1997 - 2014 NastyZ28.com Inc.
Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.