<


View Full Version : Engine Swap Help for 78 Z Senior Citizen!!


DOUBLETROUBLE
07-13-2005, 10:31:00 AM
Would some of you Pros give me some feedback on this engine and Phoenix Builder that seems to be adding alot of freebies with the "main course". Thanks
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=7984913234&category=33615

CamaroMan79
07-13-2005, 10:47:00 AM
I would be real hesitant in believing the HP/TQ claims. They dont tell you what brand of head or cam specs either.

DOUBLETROUBLE
07-13-2005, 10:58:00 AM
Hmmm....I thought the complete indentification of the "items" included, were down the page...
Thanks for responding.

RacerRick
07-13-2005, 10:59:00 AM
"(Horse Power and Torque have been verified by Dyno2000® and the Full Dyno report is included with every package*)"

Did anyone catch this?

I wonder what heads? Hyperpathic pistons? Which camshaft is it? A Comp Cams or Sealed Power? Pioneer connecting rods? Are those Vortec heads?


[This message has been edited by RacerRick (edited July 13, 2005).]

DOUBLETROUBLE
07-13-2005, 11:03:00 AM
If I really knew anything about engines, I'd call them on my cellphone...but...I can be doubletalked easily...and this would be a major outlay for me...much easier to digest moneywise, than a Z4 installation...and much more a complete package.

MikeM79
07-13-2005, 11:17:00 AM
Whew. I got tired just reading through that ad.

Here are my thoughts (in no particular order):

- No useful specifics on components. What are "racing heads", exactly? Cylinder heads are the single most important determinant of power output yet you don't know what you are buying. Chances are they are simply rebuilt heads.

- That intake won't clear a 2gen hood

- Many of the components used are not "top shelf" goods. When I order my favorite drink in a bar I say "Tanqueray and Tonic", not "gin and tonic". Learned that one the hard way. For example, the intake is the Chicom knockoff of Edelbrock. Maybe it is as good as Edelbrock, but this much is certain.....it costs less.

- The dyno stats are meaningless because they come from a computer simulation. Garbage in, garbage out. I would bet my bottom dollar that the engine does not make those numbers on a real dyno.

Let's take a step back......

- What are you trying to do?
- Which components do you already own?
- What is your budget?
- Do you plan to do the swap yourself?

DOUBLETROUBLE
07-13-2005, 11:46:00 AM
I agree with you on your statement about "knowing what you're getting"...whether in a bar...or car...or watching some stars, at home...
I always have a bottle of Stolley nearby...certainly revere in it's utter essence and I chew off hunks of blue cheese to wash it down...quickly...and with "style".

The engine I have is a GoodWrench 350, installed in Calif. in late 90's. Probably got about 60,000 miles on it. Runs good but headers leak fumes into my nostrils...and my two dogs nostrils to the point where we're ridin' "high" when we scoot around...
Reason for the stink and my interested in a racing set up, is that I just spent $800 for a front clip and hood (with huge snorkel)...

So, reading the feedback from customers of this company, I said to myself..."self"...this is right on budget for what I want to do under the hood....and with free shipping, 2-yr warrantee, highrise valve covers and chevy paint job....
This could be a very sexy bad boy on steroids. As I said, I'm not a mechanic so I would have to have Speed, Inc., or someone else nearby Hoffman Estates, IL., to do the installation.
I'm so handy, it took me four hours yesterday to put a Bomz Racing Seat on the driver's side.
So heck...I'd like to drag a bit before I die. I've two other Camaros...a V6 88 with ramair that looks "just ferocious"..lol..and, a 305 89 Iroc-Z with air conditioning, so I can "breathe easier" during this Chicago humidity!
Maybe I have to get a new screen-name.."TRIPLE-TROUBLE"!!

[This message has been edited by DOUBLETROUBLE (edited July 13, 2005).]

retorq
07-13-2005, 01:35:00 PM
There is a "Double Trouble" Racnchero that races PSCA. Blue and Yellow, fast, runs open Comp and 10.60. http://www.nastyz28.com/ubb/biggrin.gif

Damon
07-13-2005, 01:45:00 PM
I have friends who have bought engines mail order/online.

Many of the engines they bought were "advertised" in a way that is very similar to this ad.

All of them wish they hadn't bought them. ALL OF THEM.

That motor was built CHEAP. You can't build a 383 with best of everything, all new parts, complete from oil pan to carb for that kinda money, assuming the builder intends to make some kind of profit on it's sale. It's going to have cheap stuff inside. Guaranteed. That's the kinda motor I'd build for myself with EXTREME care of assembly but I'd never consider selling it to someone, especially someone who didn't know what they were buying or what it's limitations are (and believe me, there ARE limitations).

That does NOT mean it couldn't be a carefully assembled motor that puts out good power and lasts a long time. It's just not very likely. I'd steer clear of that one.

BUY LOCAL. AND REMEMBER YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR.


[This message has been edited by Damon (edited July 13, 2005).]