View Full Version : Any way to replace press in studs?


1979rallysport
09-21-2009, 06:02:36 PM
Is there anyway I can replace a press in rocker arm stud myself? I really dont want to have a machine shop do it, just because the heads are already on and the motor is put back in the car.:(

Simon@London
09-21-2009, 06:11:11 PM
Is there anyway I can replace a press in rocker arm stud myself? I really dont want to have a machine shop do it, just because the heads are already on and the motor is put back in the car.:(

There is a tool out there for this, I thought I saw one on Jegs sight before.

7/16 Tap

Doing it with heads on Car will be real risky if any metal falls into motor or down oil galley. A magnet surrounded by grease to catch stuff will be a must.

79camaro2001
09-21-2009, 06:12:10 PM
That head will have to come off.

Kind of hard to get a press in the engine bay. Also if one has pulled out, then the other's might be on their way. I would either pin the rocker studs in place or have screw-in studs installed.

1979rallysport
09-21-2009, 06:40:46 PM
There is a tool out there for this, I thought I saw one on Jegs sight before.

7/16 Tap

Doing it with heads on Car will be real risky if any metal falls into motor or down oil galley. A magnet surrounded by grease to catch stuff will be a must.
Im pulling the head off the motor, my question is, is there a way to remove the old stud ( threads are stripped off).

1979rallysport
09-21-2009, 06:41:23 PM
That head will have to come off.

Kind of hard to get a press in the engine bay. Also if one has pulled out, then the other's might be on their way. I would either pin the rocker studs in place or have screw-in studs installed.
Head is coming off, the old one didnt come out, just has stripped threads.

FatnLow
09-21-2009, 06:45:14 PM
If it was mine, I'd check on getting them all pinned at a machine shop. If you have some sort of press I suppose you could remove it yourself. It would just suck if another one did the same thing after a period of time.

79camaro2001
09-21-2009, 06:45:30 PM
Head is coming off, the old one didnt come out, just has stripped threads.


If the heads are coming off, then take it to a machine shop, it's a easy job for them. Shouldn't cost much.

1979rallysport
09-21-2009, 06:54:42 PM
If the heads are coming off, then take it to a machine shop, it's a easy job for them. Shouldn't cost much.
called them up, they said $20-25, without a new stud i have to buy that.

79camaro2001
09-21-2009, 06:57:14 PM
stud is like $5 I think?

I wouldn't chance it, cause considering how much load these studs are subjected to.

I ran screw-in studs due to this reason.

Simon@London
09-21-2009, 07:36:28 PM
stud is like $5 I think?

I wouldn't chance it, cause considering how much load these studs are subjected to.

I ran screw-in studs due to this reason.

X2 and for 25 bucks.......can't beat that. Since you got one off take both heads and get them done while it's down.

1979rallysport
09-21-2009, 07:48:33 PM
too late to get them all done, and im on a budjet, just got back from the machine shop. Took the head over and they ordered a new stud and there going to pull the old one out and put in a screw in stud. $25 plus the cost of the new stud. Told me it should be done by monday next week.