View Full Version : Speedo Question with Pic


West Texas Z
09-23-2008, 02:22:15 AM
Will I have to get any special connections to install an aftermarket speedo from Autometer (pro-comp) and remove the stock one? This is the stocker:


http://i91.photobucket.com/albums/k318/lamigra806/CamaroPics6-1-08026.jpg


I'm installing a full set for my Covans dash kit and the old one is ugly. Thanks in advance!

West Texas Z
09-23-2008, 02:28:50 AM
http://www.covansclassic.com/images/249.jpg

This is what it should look like when done. I already have the NEW oil, water. volt and fuel gauges. Right now I'm just trying to get things in order before I take apart my dash.

West Texas Z
09-23-2008, 09:59:10 AM
anyone?

Knuckle Dragger
09-23-2008, 10:11:58 AM
How old are you?


















Sorry couldn't resists, not funny now huh? Do a search it's been talked about a lot. You will need the adapter from VDO (might be discontinued) or a new cable to make it work. This assumes you're going with a mechanical speedo.

XxWickedz28xX
09-23-2008, 10:13:03 AM
I just did the same thing in my 79z. I went from stock to autometer, sport comp gauges.
The factory cable will not fit the autometer gauge. Basically your only choice is to chage out the cable.I got one from LOkar through summit. Its a universal cable, so its gotta be cut to size.
There used to be a simpler way. VDO used to make an adapter that would just plug into the stock cable, then plug into the gauge. I looked all over for one, and it seems that VDO discontinued the item. I read some bad reviews about them anyway, noisy, not so accurate....etc.

http://i238.photobucket.com/albums/ff157/XxWickedz28xX/100_2244.jpg

West Texas Z
09-23-2008, 12:37:48 PM
Sorry couldn't resists, not funny now huh? Do a search it's been talked about a lot. You will need the adapter from VDO (might be discontinued) or a new cable to make it work. This assumes you're going with a mechanical speedo.

:p

I just did the same thing in my 79z. I went from stock to autometer, sport comp gauges.
The factory cable will not fit the autometer gauge. Basically your only choice is to chage out the cable.I got one from LOkar through summit. Its a universal cable, so its gotta be cut to size.
There used to be a simpler way. VDO used to make an adapter that would just plug into the stock cable, then plug into the gauge. I looked all over for one, and it seems that VDO discontinued the item. I read some bad reviews about them anyway, noisy, not so accurate....etc.

Thanks! I'll look into that now.

Dstryr
09-23-2008, 12:40:40 PM
I'm guessing you are going to an mechanical speedometer cable? Well when I did mine on my 71 I realized the stock cable wasn't going to work. So after some research it seemed like the 68 camaro speedometer cable came with a screw on end on both sides.

Worked perfectly and fit everything just like it was suppose to.

Order up one for a 68.

West Texas Z
09-23-2008, 12:46:25 PM
Yes its a Mechanical Guage. 68 huh? I'll ask at the parts store for one.

West Texas Z
09-23-2008, 03:03:09 PM
I'm guessing you are going to an mechanical speedometer cable? Well when I did mine on my 71 I realized the stock cable wasn't going to work. So after some research it seemed like the 68 camaro speedometer cable came with a screw on end on both sides.

Worked perfectly and fit everything just like it was suppose to.

Order up one for a 68.


do you know what length you used? Apparently there are a few of them for the 68 Camaro. Thanks BTW.

protour73
09-23-2008, 03:21:01 PM
do you know what length you used? Apparently there are a few of them for the 68 Camaro. Thanks BTW.

don't assume that his speedo cable length is the same....do you have identical transmissions?:rolleyes:

West Texas Z
09-23-2008, 03:23:42 PM
don't assume that his speedo cable length is the same....do you have identical transmissions?:rolleyes:


Ah!!!!! I didnt know that. :screwup: :D

What about:

http://www.covansclassic.com/images/492.jpg


This speedometer cable is a 63" screw on both ends type cable for a mechanical speedometer

Knuckle Dragger
09-23-2008, 03:40:13 PM
Ah!!!!! I didnt know that. :screwup: :D

Should I just remove my stock one and compare it with a new one that would adapt to the speedo?

Yes, you can buy the cable by length. I think Napa online shows them that way. ;)

Dstryr
09-23-2008, 08:48:43 PM
I had a 4 speed saginaw and now I have a th-350. We will see when it gets here if it is going to work.

I ordered the 68 camaro 4-speed one. Check it out atleast.

West Texas Z
09-23-2008, 11:06:36 PM
I had a 4 speed saginaw and now I have a th-350. We will see when it gets here if it is going to work.

I ordered the 68 camaro 4-speed one. Check it out atleast.


Keep me posted. :happy:

iregret
09-24-2008, 12:14:55 AM
Dude, look in Cindy's thread. I answered this one with pics and part numbers.

Next time try actually searching.

Plus VDO still makes the adapter. Not worth the price though. You can buy the correct cable from Autozone for 17 bucks.

XxWickedz28xX
09-24-2008, 12:20:27 AM
Plus VDO still makes the adapter.


Where? Got any links?

West Texas Z
09-24-2008, 12:26:34 AM
Next time try actually searching.

I'm sorry. I didnt search with the key word "Cindy" when I needed an answer. :rolleyes:

Thanks for the link. ;)

Knuckle Dragger
09-24-2008, 12:55:05 AM
I'm sorry. I didnt search with the key word "Cindy" when I needed an answer. :rolleyes:


ROFLMAO

It has been asked and answered several times though. :)

iregret
09-24-2008, 11:27:16 AM
Where? Got any links?
I literally typed "VDO speedometer adapter" in google and came up with several websites selling the adapter. Did you try looking for it? But, at 50.00, its hardly worth it to me.

http://www.fasterthanthem.com/product.php?productid=97659
http://www.egauges.com/vdo_acce.asp?Subgroup=Speedometer_Cable_Adapters
According to Summit, the correct part number for GM/Chevy is 200202. That is what I am basing the above links on. I realize that it does say that they are for a Ford, but it is my understanding that they work on Chevy, although, I can not personally verify that they do. Like I said, at that price it hardly seemed worth it to me.
http://store.summitracing.com/partdetail.asp?part=VDO-200202


I'm sorry. I didnt search with the key word "Cindy" when I needed an answer. :rolleyes:

Thanks for the link. ;)

Yes, but if you had actually tried to find your answer, instead of asking to be spoon fed, you may have came across Cindy's thread. How do you suppose I found the answer? I'll give you a hint, it starts with a S, and ends with earch.

Here ya go, open wide.

http://www.nastyz28.com/forum/showpost.php?p=1318266&postcount=124

no-nitro
09-24-2008, 02:55:07 PM
Well is everyone crabby today.

West Texas Z
09-24-2008, 03:37:58 PM
I literally typed "VDO speedometer adapter" in google and came up with several websites selling the adapter. Did you try looking for it? But, at 50.00, its hardly worth it to me.

http://www.fasterthanthem.com/product.php?productid=97659
http://www.egauges.com/vdo_acce.asp?Subgroup=Speedometer_Cable_Adapters
According to Summit, the correct part number for GM/Chevy is 200202. That is what I am basing the above links on. I realize that it does say that they are for a Ford, but it is my understanding that they work on Chevy, although, I can not personally verify that they do. Like I said, at that price it hardly seemed worth it to me.
http://store.summitracing.com/partdetail.asp?part=VDO-200202




Yes, but if you had actually tried to find your answer, instead of asking to be spoon fed, you may have came across Cindy's thread. How do you suppose I found the answer? I'll give you a hint, it starts with a S, and ends with earch.

Here ya go, open wide.

http://www.nastyz28.com/forum/showpost.php?p=1318266&postcount=124

Ok, one cut the cute talk. I'm not a little kid. I dont know who your trying to impress. Two, I've never installed a gauge in my life so how am I supposed to know what a "VDO adapter" is? When I said thanks for the link I was being serious (AS IN THANK YOU) but next time if you plan comming off as a jerk, please just keep to your self.

I got my answer already. Thanks.

XxWickedz28xX
09-24-2008, 07:36:43 PM
I literally typed "VDO speedometer adapter" in google and came up with several websites selling the adapter. Did you try looking for it?

Yeah, you could say that, I even ordered it. The next day my order was canceled, money returned. They said the part was discontinued. I tried Summit, egauges.com, Jegs and some online tranny shop. All places recommended a new cable, so thats what I went with.

EDIT: Did you check any of your links?
.......egauges has no listing for GM, the other link is to a FORD adapter, and the summit link you provided clearly says N/A ;)
Like I said earlier...... GM part is discontinued. As far as I was told by a few different places, the ford will not work for our cars.